AOSW has several committees that carry out a number of different functions for the Association. Among them are the following committees. To learn more about them, click on the name of the committee below.

Learn about volunteering for a committee or other AOSW volunteer opportunities

2021 AOSW 37th Annual Conference Committee

Research Committee

The primary goal of the Research Committee is to assure that social work research in oncology serves the interest of patients and families dealing with cancer and remains relevant to the field. The Research Committee communicates research methods, projects and results to AOSW members via the website, newsletter articles, conference presentations and webinars.

The Research Committee also reviews research proposals from members and others who wish to use the SWON listserv to conduct research. Researchers who are interested conducting such research or in participating in the Research Committee should contact AOSW Research Director Allison Werner-Lin, PhD, LCSW.

AOSW Annual Conference Presentations

The Research Committee also developed a Practice-Based Research Collaborative In 2016 to facilitate research in psychosocial oncology.

Best Practices

American Psychosocial Oncology Society (APOS), Association of Oncology Social Work (AOSW), and Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) Joint Position Statement on Implementing Screening for Distress


Allison Werner-Lin - Director
University of Pennsylvania
Barbara Jones, PhD, MSW - Executive Core Research Committee
Univ of Texas At Austin
Hee Y. Lee - Executive Core Research Committee
The University of Alabama
Julianne S. Oktay, MSW, PhD, FAOSW - Executive Core Research Committee
University of Maryland School of Social Work
Tara J. Schapmire, PhD MSSW OSW-C FAOSW - Executive Core Research Committee
University of Louisville
Daniela A. Wittmann, PhD LMSW - Executive Core Research Committee
University of Michigan
Brad Zebrack, PhD, MSW, MPH, FAOSW - Executive Core Research Committee
University of Michigan School of Social Work
Chiara Acquati - Member
University of Houston, Graduate College of Social Work
Heather H. Goltz, PhD, LCSW, MEd - Member
University of Houston-Downtown
Mi Hwa Lee - Member
East Carolina University
Ron Mills - Member
Ohio State Univ Comprehensive Cancer Ctr - James Cancer Hosp
Sophia K. Smith, PhD, MSW - Member
Duke University

Staff Liaison

Sheila Lee
Executive Director
[email protected]