Research Committee

Home About AOSW Leadership Committees AOSW Research Committee

Research Committee

The primary goal of the Research Committee is to assure that social work research in oncology serves the interest of patients and families dealing with cancer and remains relevant to the field. The Research Committee communicates research methods, projects and results to AOSW members via the website, newsletter articles, conference presentations and webinars.

The Research Committee also reviews research proposals from members and others who wish to use the SWON listserv to conduct research. Researchers who are interested conducting such research or in participating in the Research Committee should contact  AOSW Research Director Allison Werner-Lin, Phd, LCSW.

AOSW Annual Conference Presentations

The Research Committee also developed a Practice-Based Research Collaborative In 2016 to facilitate research in psychosocial oncology.

Best Practices

American Psychosocial Oncology Society (APOS), Association of Oncology Social Work (AOSW), and Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) Joint Position Statement on Implementing Screening for Distress

AOSW Research Director and Committee Chair

Sophia Smith, PhD, MSW
Duke University

Committee Members

Executive Core Research Committee

Barbara Jones, PhD, MSW
University of Texas 
[email protected]

Hee Yun Lee, PhD
University of Alabama

[email protected]

Julianne Oktay, MSW, PhD
University of Maryland School of Social Work
j[email protected]

Tara J. Schapmire, PhD, MSSW, CSW, OSW-C, FNAP, FAOSW
Universiry of Louisville

Daniela Wittmann, PhD, MSW
University of Michigan School of Social Work
[email protected]

Brad Zebrack, PhD, MSW, MPH, FAPOS
University of Michigan School of Social Work

Additional Research Committee Members:

Chiara Acquati, PhD, MSW: Research Institute Planning and Integration
Heather Goltz, PhD, LMSW: Quality Improvement Projects
Mi Hwa Lee, PhD, MSW: Navigator Articles   
Ron Mills, MS: Navigator Articles and Patient Advocate
Ashley Varner, PhD, LCSW: Website and Webinar Development

Staff Liaison

Emily Burch
AOSW Executive Director
Phone: (847) 686-2376
[email protected]